

CRSWSC – November 30, 2017 - 1 -

MINUTES OF THE CAPITAL REGION SOUTHWEST WATER SERVICES COMMISSION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING, HELD ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 30, 2017 AT 6:00 P.M. BEST WESTERN PREMIER DENHAM INN & SUITES, TERRACE ROOM, 5207 – 50 AVENUE, LEDUC, AB

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m. by Shawn Olson, Commission Manager, CRSWSC. It was noted that this is the Organizational Meeting for the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

2. APPOINTED MEMBERS

The following revised list of members were appointed to the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Board by their municipality;

- I. Councillor Sam Munckhof-Swain, Town of Beaumont
- II. Councillor Bill Daneluik, Town of Beaumont
- III. Mayor Wally Yachimetz, Town of Calmar
- IV. Councillor Terry Balaban, Town of Calmar
- V. Councillor Lin Rehn, Town of Calmar (alt.)
- VI. Mayor Bob Young, City of Leduc
- VII. Councillor Beverly Beckett, City of Leduc
- VIII. Councillor Lars Hansen, City of Leduc (alt.)
- IX. Councillor Doug Lyseng, Camrose County
- X. Councillor Greg Gillespie, Camrose County
- XI. Councillor Cindy Trautman Camrose County (alt.)
- XII. Mayor Dawn Pauls, Village of Hay Lakes
- XIII. Councillor Dave Vallee, Village of Hay Lakes
- XIV. Councillor Kelly Vandenberghe, Leduc County
- XV. Councillor Rick Smith, Leduc County
- XVI. Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis, Leduc County (alt.)
- XVII. Mayor Tanni Doblanko, Leduc County (alt.)
- XVIII. Mayor Tony Wadsworth, Town of Millet
- XIX. Councillor Pat Garrett, Town of Millet
- XX. Councillor Mike Storey, Town of Millet (alt.)
- **48-17 Motion:** It was **Moved** by Mayor Wally Yachimetz to receive the revised list of Appointed Members as information.



CRSWSC - November 30, 2017 - 2 -

3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Manager Shawn Olson proposed Carol Hounsell and Pamela Regier to be scrutineers.

49-17 Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Pat Garrett that the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission accept Carol Hounsell and Pamela Regier as scrutineers for the nominations for the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Carried

Manager Shawn Olson explained that this will be a nomination process. If someone wishes to do so, they can indicate if they wish to let their name stand for a position.

A. Nomination of Chair

Manager Shawn Olson called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Chairman.

Board Member Councillor Kelly Vandenberghe nominated Board Member Councillor Rick Smith for Chairman.

Board Member Councillor Terry Balaban nominated Board Member Mayor Wally Yachimetz for Chairman.

Board Member Councillor Beverly Beckett nominated Board Member Mayor Tony Wadsworth for Chairman.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

50-17 Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Pat Garrett that nominations for the position of Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission cease.

Carried

Board Members cast their anonymous vote.

Manager Shawn Olson declared that there was a tie between Board Members Councillor Rick Smith and Mayor Tony Wadsworth. Board Members were asked to vote for the Chairman position again between these two remaining candidates.

51-17 Motion: It was Moved by Councillor Terry Balaban to destroy the voting ballots.



CRSWSC - November 30, 2017 - 3 -

Board Members cast their anonymous vote. There was a tie once again. It was determined that the tie would be broken by a coin toss.

52-17

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Terry Balaban to destroy the second set of voting ballots.

Carried

Manager Shawn Olson declared Board Member Councillor Rick Smith, elected by coin toss, as Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Board Member Councillor Rick Smith thanked the members for the appointment and assumed the Chair.

B. Nomination of Vice Chair

Chairman Rick Smith called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Vice Chairman.

Board Member Councillor Lars Hansen nominated Board Member Councillor Beverly Beckett for Vice Chairman.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand. Board Member Councillor Pat Garrett nominated Board Member Mayor Wally Yachimetz.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

53-17 Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Kelly Vandenberghe that nominations for the position of Vice Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission cease.

Carried

Board Members cast their anonymous vote

Chairman Rick Smith declared Board Member Beverly Beckett, elected by vote of the Board, as Vice Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

54-17 Motion: It was Moved by Councillor Terry Balaban to destroy the voting ballots.



CRSWSC - November 30, 2017 - 4 -

5a 1 - 1 - 1 - 1

4. MEETING DATES

A. Proposed CRSWSC 2018 meeting dates

Thursday, February 15, 2018 – Regular Meeting

Thursday, April 19, 2018 – Annual General Meeting*

Thursday, April 26, 2018 – Regular Meeting

Thursday, June 21, 2018 – Regular Meeting

Thursday, September 20, 2018 - Regular Meeting

Thursday, November 22, 2018 - Organizational Meeting

The meetings will be held at the Best Western Premier Denham Inn & Suites, located at 5207 – 50 Avenue, Leduc, AB T9E 6V3.

Dinner at 5:30 p.m. and the meetings will begin at 6:00 p.m.

*Annual General Meeting cocktails start at 5:00 p.m., dinner at 6:00 p.m. with the meeting to follow at 7:00 p.m.

55-17 Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Beverly Beckett that the 2018 meeting dates be approved as circulated.

Carried

5. ADJOURNMENT

56-17

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Terry Balaban to adjourn the meeting at 6:23 p.m.

CHAIRMAN MANAGER