

MINUTES OF THE CAPITAL REGION SOUTHWEST WATER SERVICES COMMISSION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING,

HELD ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2016 AT 6:00 P.M.
BEST WESTERN PLUS DENHAM INN & SUITES, TERRACE ROOM,
5207 – 50 AVENUE, LEDUC, AB.

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 5:50 p.m., Thursday, December 1, 2016 by Shawn Olson, Commission Manager, CRSWSC. Manager Shawn Olson noted that this is the Organizational Meeting for the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

2. APPOINTED MEMBERS

The following members were appointed to the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Board by their municipality;

- I. Councillor Bill McNamara, Town of Beaumont
- II. Councillor Kathy Barnhart, Town of Beaumont
- III. Councillor Bruce LeCren, Town of Beaumont (alt.)
- IV. Mayor Wally Yachimetz, Town of Calmar
- V. Councillor Terry Balaban, Town of Calmar
- VI. Councillor Michele Borodawka, Town of Calmar (alt.)
- VII. Councillor Dana Smith, City of Leduc
- VIII. Councillor Beverly Beckett, City of Leduc
- IX. Councillor David MacKenzie, City of Leduc (alt.)
- X. Councillor Doug Lyseng, Camrose County
- XI. Councillor Greg Gillespie, Camrose County
- XII. Councillor Ken Krause, Camrose County (alt.)
- XIII. Councillor Faye Leicht, Village of Hay Lakes
- XIV. Deputy Mayor Shannon Yearwood, Village of Hay Lakes
- XV. Councillor Dawn Pauls, Village of Hay Lakes (alt.)
- XVI. Councillor John Schonewille, Leduc County
- XVII. Councillor Rick Smith, Leduc County
- XVIII. Councillor Clay Stumph, Leduc County (alt.)
- XIX. Mayor John Whaley, Leduc County (alt.)
- XX. Councillor Pat Garrett, Town of Millet
- XXI. Mayor Tony Wadsworth, Town of Millet
- XXII. Councillor Mike Storey, Town of Millet (alt.)
- **41-16 Motion:** It was **Moved** by Councillor John Schonewille to receive the list of Appointed Members as information.

Carried



3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Manager Shawn Olson proposed Samantha Folster and Carol Hounsell to be scrutineers.

42-16

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Beverly Beckett that the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission accept Samantha Folster and Carol Hounsell as scrutineers for the nominations for the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Carried

Manager Shawn Olson explained that this will be a nomination process. If someone wishes to do so, they can indicate if they wish to let their name stand for a position.

A. Nomination of Chair

Manager Shawn Olson called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Chairman.

Board Member Mayor Wally Yachimetz nominated Board Member Councillor John Schonewille for Chairman.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

43-16

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Pat Garrett that nominations for the position of Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission cease.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Manager Shawn Olson declared Board Member Councillor John Schonewille elected by Acclamation, as Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Board Member Councillor John Schonewille thanked the members for the appointment and assumed the Chairman.

B. Nomination of Vice Chair

Chairman John Schonewille called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Vice Chairman.



Chairman John Schonewille nominated Board Member Councillor Beverly Beckett for Vice Chairman.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Kathy Barnhart that nominations for the position of Vice Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission cease.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Chairman John Schonewille declared Board Member Councillor Beverly Beckett elected by Acclamation, as Vice Chairman of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

4. MEETING DATES

A. Proposed CRSWSC 2017 meeting dates

Thursday, February 16, 2017 – Regular Meeting

Thursday, March 30, 2017 - Regular Meeting

Thursday, April 20, 2017 - Annual General Meeting*

Thursday, June 8, 2017 - Regular Meeting

Thursday, September 7, 2017 - Regular Meeting

Thursday, November 30, 2017 - Organizational Meeting

The meetings will be held at the Best Western Plus Denham Inn & Suites, located at 5207 – 50 Avenue, Leduc, AB T9E 6V3.

Dinner at 5:30 p.m. and the meetings will begin at 6:00 p.m.

*Annual General Meeting cocktails start at 5:00 p.m., dinner at 6:00 p.m. with the meeting to follow at 7:00 p.m.

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Rick Smith that the 2017 meeting dates be approved as circulated.

Carried



CRSWSC - December 1, 2016 - 4 -

5. ADJOURNMENT

46-16 Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Rick Smith to adjourn the meeting at 5:57 p.m.

Carried

CHAIRMAN

MANAGER