

MINUTES OF THE CAPITAL REGION SOUTHWEST WATER SERVICES COMMISSION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING, HELD ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 19, 2020 AT 6:00 P.M. BEST WESTERN PREMIER DENHAM INN & SUITES, DISCOVERY BALLROOM, 5207 – 50 AVENUE LEDUC, AB T9E 6V3 AND VIA GOTOMEETING (VIRTUAL ATTENDEES)

1. CALL TO ORDER

The Organizational meeting for the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission was called to order at 6:08 p.m. by Shawn Olson, Commission Manager, CRSWSC.

2. APPOINTED MEMBERS

The following list of members were appointed to the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Board by their municipality;

- I. Councillor Sam Munckhof-Swain, City of Beaumont
- II. Councillor Bill Daneluik, City of Beaumont
- III. Councillor Steven vanNieuwkerk, City of Beaumont (alt.)
- IV. Mayor Wally Yachimetz, Town of Calmar
- V. Councillor Krista Gardner, Town of Calmar
- VI. Councillor Don Faulkner, Town of Calmar (alt.)
- VII. Councillor Lars Hansen, City of Leduc
- VIII. Councillor Beverly Beckett, City of Leduc
- IX. Mayor Bob Young, City of Leduc (alt.)
- X. Councillor Doug Lyseng, Camrose County
- XI. Councillor Greg Gillespie, Camrose County
- XII. Reeve Cindy Trautman, Camrose County (alt.)
- XIII. Mayor Dave Vallee, Village of Hay Lakes
- XIV. Deputy Mayor Dawn Pauls, Village of Hay Lakes
- XV. Councillor Faye Leicht, Village of Hay Lakes (alt.)
- XVI. Councillor Kelly Vandenberghe, Leduc County
- XVII. Councillor Rick Smith, Leduc County
- XVIII. Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis, Leduc County (alt.)
- XIX. Mayor Tanni Doblanko, Leduc County (alt.)
- XX. Mayor Tony Wadsworth, Town of Millet
- XXI. Councillor Mike Storey, Town of Millet
- XXII. Councillor Pat Garrett, Town of Millet (alt.)

The following members were appointed to the CRSWSC Board by their community, as observers with no voting rights;

XXIII. Councillor Kevin Hycha, City of Camrose

XXIV. Councillor David Ofrim, City of Camrose

XXV. Malcolm Boyd, City Manager, City of Camrose (alt.)



46-20

Motion: It was **Moved** by Mayor Wally Yachimetz to receive the list of Appointed Members as information.

Motion Carried Unanimously

3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Manager Shawn Olson proposed Shannon Bremner, Commission Secretary, to be the scrutineer. In consideration of the mix of in person and virtual attendance, Board members were asked to privately text message their votes to Shannon Bremner, to compile the votes anonymously.

47-20

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Beverly Beckett that the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission accept Shannon Bremner as the scrutineer for the nominations of Chair and Vice Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Manager Shawn Olson explained that this will be a nomination process. If someone wishes to do so, they can indicate if they wish to let their name stand for a position.

A. Nomination of Chair

Manager Shawn Olson called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Chair.

Board Member Councillor Lars Hansen nominated Board Member Councillor Beverly Beckett for Chair.

Board Member Councillor Rick Smith nominated Board Member Mayor Wally Yachimetz for Chair.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

48-20 Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Bill Daneluik that nominations for the position of Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission cease.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Board members cast their anonymous vote.

Manager Shawn Olson declared Board Member Mayor Wally Yachimetz, elected by Vote, as Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.



49-20

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Kelly Vandenberghe to destroy the voting records.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Board member Mayor Wally Yachimetz thanked the members for the appointment and assumed the position as Chair.

B. Nomination of Vice Chair

Chair Wally Yachimetz called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Vice Chair.

Board Member Councillor Lars Hansen nominated Board Member Councillor Beverly Beckett for Vice Chair.

Board Member Councillor Sam Munckhof-Swain nominated Board Member Councillor Bill Daneluik for Vice Chair.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

50-20

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Pat Garrett that nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission cease.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Board members cast their anonymous vote.

Chair Wally Yachimetz declared Board Member Councillor Bill Daneluik, elected by Vote, as Vice Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

51-20

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Kelly Vandenberghe to destroy the voting records.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Board member Councillor Bill Daneluik thanked the members for the appointment.

4. MEETING DATES

A. 2021 Meeting Dates

- Thursday, January 21, 2021 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, March 18, 2021 Regular Meeting



- Thursday, April 15, 2021 Annual General Meeting*
- Thursday, May 20, 2021 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, September 16, 2021 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, November 18, 2021 Organizational & Regular Meeting

The Regular meetings will be held at the Best Western Premier Denham Inn & Suites, located at 5207 – 50 Avenue, Leduc, AB T9E 6V3. Dinner will be served at 5:30 p.m., with the meetings to begin at 6:00 p.m.

*The Annual General Meeting will begin with cocktails at 5:00 p.m., dinner will be served at 6:00 p.m., with the meeting to follow at 7:00 p.m. Formal invitations will be distributed.

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Doug Lyseng that the 2021 meeting dates be approved as circulated.

Motion Carried Unanimously

5. ADJOURNMENT

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Beverly Beckett to adjourn the meeting at 6:31 p.m.

Motion Carried Unanimously

CHAIRMAN

MANAGER