

MINUTES OF THE CAPITAL REGION SOUTHWEST WATER SERVICES COMMISSION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING, HELD ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 2, 2021 AT 6:00 P.M. BEST WESTERN PREMIER DENHAM INN & SUITES, MARQUIS ROOM, 5207 – 50 AVENUE LEDUC, AB T9E 6V3 AND VIA GOTOMEETING (VIRTUAL ATTENDEES)

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 6:01 p.m. by Shawn Olson, Commission Manager, CRSWSC. Shawn Olson welcomed members and introductions were completed to confirm who was in attendance.

2. APPOINTED MEMBERS

The following list of members were appointed to the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Board by their municipality;

- I. Mayor Bill Daneluik, City of Beaumont
- II. Councillor Ashley Miller, City of Beaumont
- III. Councillor Steven vanNieuwkerk, City of Beaumont (alt.)
- IV. Councillor Krista Gardner, Town of Calmar
- V. Councillor Don Faulkner, Town of Calmar
- VI. Mayor Sean Carnahan, Town of Calmar (alt.)
- VII. Councillor Lars Hansen, City of Leduc
- VIII. Councillor Beverly Beckett, City of Leduc
- IX. Mayor Bob Young, City of Leduc (alt.)
- X. Councillor Doug Lyseng, Camrose County
- XI. Councillor Jordon Banack, Camrose County
- XII. Reeve Cindy Trautman, Camrose County (alt.)
- XIII. Councillor Clifford Heinz, Village of Hay Lakes
- XIV. Councillor Paul Patterson, Village of Hay Lakes
- XV. Mayor Ron These, Village of Hay Lakes (alt.)
- XVI. Councillor Kelly Vandenberghe, Leduc County
- XVII. Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis, Leduc County
- XVIII. Councillor Rick Smith, Leduc County (alt.)
- XIX. Mayor Tanni Doblanko, Leduc County (alt.)
- XX. Mayor Doug Peel, Town of Millet
- XXI. Councillor Mathew Starky, Town of Millet
- XXII. Councillor Marlene Alberts-Wadsworth, Town of Millet (alt.)

The following members were appointed to the CRSWSC Board by their municipality, as observers with no voting rights;

XXIII. Councillor Kevin Hycha, City of Camrose

XXIV. Councillor Lana Broker, City of Camrose

XXV. Malcolm Boyd, City Manager, City of Camrose (alt.)



Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Beverly Beckett to receive the amended list of Appointed Members as information.

Motion Carried Unanimously

3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Manager Shawn Olson proposed Lauren Padgham and Gerard Del Rosario to be the scrutineers. In consideration of the mix of in person and virtual attendance, Board members attending virtually were asked to email their votes to Shannon Bremner, who would record and submit votes on their behalf anonymously.

43-21 Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Beverly Beckett that the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission accept Lauren Padgham and Gerard Del Rosario as the scrutineers for the nominations of Chair and Vice Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Manager Shawn Olson explained that this will be a nomination process. If someone wishes to do so, they can indicate if they wish to let their name stand for a position.

A. Nomination of Chair

Manager Shawn Olson called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Chair.

Board Member Councillor Kelly Vandenberghe nominated Board Member Mayor Bill Daneluik for Chair. Mayor Bill Daneluik was absent from the meeting and had previously indicated his acceptance of the Chair nomination.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Don Faulkner to declare Mayor Bill Daneluik, elected by Acclamation, as the Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Motion Carried Unanimously

B. Nomination of Vice Chair

Shawn Olson called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Vice Chair.



Board Member Councillor Krista Gardner nominated Board Member Councillor Lars Hansen for Vice Chair.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Paul Patterson to declare Councillor Lars Hansen, elected by Acclamation, as the Vice Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Board member Councillor Lars Hansen thanked the members for the appointment and assumed the position as Chair of the meeting, on behalf of Chair Bill Daneluik.

4. MEETING DATES

A. Proposed 2022 Meeting Dates

- Thursday, January 20, 2022 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, March 17, 2022 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, April 21, 2022 Annual General Meeting*
- Thursday, May 19, 2022 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, September 15, 2022 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, November 17, 2022 Organizational & Regular Meeting

The Regular meetings will be held at the Best Western Premier Denham Inn & Suites, located at 5207 – 50 Avenue, Leduc, AB T9E 6V3. Dinner will be served at 5:30 p.m., with the meetings to begin at 6:00 p.m.

*The Annual General Meeting will begin with cocktails at 5:00 p.m., dinner will be served at 6:00 p.m., with the meeting to follow at 7:00 p.m. Formal invitations will be distributed.

Motion: It was **Moved** by Mayor Doug Peel that the 2022 meeting dates be approved as circulated.

Motion Carried Unanimously



5. ADJOURNMENT

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Clifford Heinz to adjourn the meeting at 6:13 p.m.

Motion Carried Unanimously

CHAIRMAN

MANAGER