

MINUTES OF THE CAPITAL REGION SOUTHWEST WATER SERVICES COMMISSION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING, HELD ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 21, 2024 AT 6:00 P.M. LEDUC GOLF CLUB, 5725 BLACK GOLD DRIVE, LEDUC, AB T9E 8C4

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 5:53 p.m. by Shawn Olson, Commission Manager, CRSWSC. Shawn Olson welcomed members, and introductions were completed to confirm attendance.

2. APPOINTED MEMBERS

The following list of members were appointed to the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Board by their municipality.

- I. Mayor Bill Daneluik, City of Beaumont
- II. Councillor Catherine McCook, City of Beaumont
- III. Councillor Steven vanNieuwkerk, City of Beaumont (alt.)
- IV. Councillor Krista Gardner, Town of Calmar
- V. Councillor Don Faulkner, Town of Calmar
- VI. Councillor Jaime McKeag Reber, Town of Calmar (alt.)
- VII. Councillor Lars Hansen, City of Leduc
- VIII. Councillor Beverly Beckett, City of Leduc
- IX. Mayor Bob Young, City of Leduc (alt.)
- X. Councillor Doug Lyseng, Camrose County
- XI. Councillor Jordon Banack, Camrose County
- XII. Councillor Don Simpson, Camrose County (alt.)
- XIII. Deputy Mayor Clifford Heinz, Village of Hay Lakes
- XIV. Councillor Paul Patterson, Village of Hay Lakes
- XV. Councillor Ron These, Village of Hay Lakes (alt.)
- XVI. Councillor Rick Smith, Leduc County
- XVII. Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis, Leduc County
- XVIII. Mayor Tanni Doblanko, Leduc County (alt.)
- XIX. Councillor Dal Virdi, Leduc County (alt.)
- XX. Mayor Doug Peel, Town of Millet



XXI. Councillor Mathew Starky, Town of Millet

XXII. Councillor Rebecca Frost, Town of Millet (alt.)

The following members were appointed to the CRSWSC Board by their municipality, as observers with no voting rights.

- I. Councillor Kevin Hycha, City of Camrose
- II. Councillor Lana Broker, City of Camrose
- III. Malcolm Boyd, City Manager City of Camrose (alt.)
- **41-24 Motion:** It was **Moved** by Councillor Rick Smith to receive the amended list of Appointed Members as information.

Motion Carried Unanimously

3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Manager Shawn Olson proposed Gerard Del Rosario and Elie Tymchyshyn to be the scrutineers.

42-24 Motion: It was **Moved** by Mayor Bill Daneluik that the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission accept Gerard Del Rosario and Elie Tymchyshyn as the scrutineers for the nominations of Chair and Vice Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Manager Shawn Olson explained that this will be a nomination process. If someone wishes to do so, they can indicate if they wish to let their name stand for a position.

A. Nomination of Chair

Manager Shawn Olson called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Chair.

Board Member Councillor Beverly Becket nominated Board Member Councillor Lars Hansen for Chair.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.



Manager Shawn Olson declared Board Member Councillor Lars Hansen, elected by Acclamation, as Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis that nominations for the position of Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission cease.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Board member Councillor Lars Hansen thanked the members for the appointment and assumed the position as Chair.

B. Nomination of Vice Chair

Chair Lars Hansen called for nominations and/or anyone who wishes to let their name stand for the position of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission Vice Chair.

Board Member Councillor Rick Smith nominated Board Member Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis for Vice Chair.

Second call for nominations or to let name stand.

Third and final call for nominations or to let name stand.

No further nominations received.

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Rick Smith that nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission cease.

Motion Carried Unanimously

Chair Lars Hansen declared Board Member Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis, elected by Acclamation, as Vice Chair of the Capital Region Southwest Water Services Commission.

Board member Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis thanked the members for the appointment.

4. MEETING DATES

A. Proposed 2024 Meeting Dates

The following 2025 meeting dates were reviewed by the Board.

- Thursday, January 16, 2025 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, March 20, 2025 Regular Meeting



- Thursday, April 17, 2025 Annual General Meeting
- Thursday, June 19, 2025 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, September 18, 2025 Regular Meeting
- Thursday, November 20, 2025 Organizational & Regular Meeting.

Regular Meetings: These will be held at the Leduc Golf Club, located at 5725 Black Gold Drive, Leduc, AB, T9E 8C4. Dinner will be served at 5:30 p.m., with meetings beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Note: The locations for the June 19 and September 18 meetings are yet to be confirmed due to scheduling conflicts with existing events at the golf course.

Annual General Meeting: Location is yet to be confirmed. Cocktails will start at 5:00 p.m., dinner will be served at 6:00 p.m., with the meeting to follow at 7:00 p.m. Formal invitations will be distributed for this event.

45-24 Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Jordan Banack that the 2025 meeting dates be approved as circulated.

Motion Carried Unanimously

5. ADJOURNMENT

Motion: It was **Moved** by Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis to adjourn the meeting at 6:00 p.m.

Motion Carried Unanimously

CHAIRMAN

MANAGER